Plagiarism Amongst Selenium Instructors: The Sequel

Many thanks to all of you who responded to my request for advice re: the plagiarist Selenium instructor in whose class I found myself last week! As of last night, I still couldn’t decide what I should have done that evening or what I should do going forward. Then, during a break in my Wednesday evening class, I checked my email via my Blackberry. Another advice/comment had rolled in–a very insightful one. Amongst other things, the writer said: “Plagiarism is the sincerest form of flattery.” This comment was amusing all on its own, since it’s a slight variation of the familiar idiom: “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.” But it was particularly funny, given the title of a post I had made back in February: “Translation is the sincerest form of flattery, right?” I began to question why I had been flattered by my work being translated but offended by my work being plagiarized!

I found this last commenter’s one-liner so amusing and thought-provoking that I had trouble paying attention to the second half of my Wednesday night class! On my drive home, I began to wonder who had written the comment. I thought I recalled seeing “Rickt” as part of the email address. I once had a QA manager named Rick and his last name started with a “T” but I wasn’t aware that he was interested in Selenium, so I thought it unlikely that he knew I had a blog much less had ever read it. However, when I got home, I looked at the message again (California state law doesn’t allow one to touch one’s cell while stopped at a red light, and I always obey California state laws!). And the comment was indeed from the Rick T. I knew.

So, here’s to you, Rick! I wish I’d gotten to work for you for a lot longer than I did! You’re a rare combination–both wise and witty!

About Mary Ann May-Pumphrey

I'm a software QA automation engineer, focusing primarily on Selenium/Webdriver automation of the front end of web apps. View all posts by Mary Ann May-Pumphrey

Leave a Reply

